This website uses cookies to improve your experience. If you continue we'll assume that your are happy with it

Interiors How-To: Paint a Room

Thanks!

We asked David Mottershead, MD of independent British paint manufacturer Little Greene, for his advice on choosing wall colours

 

Choosing paint is a very personal thing

We’ve all got our own preferences and associations with colours, so it’s important to follow your instinct and base a palette around something you already adore. It could be a piece of furniture, a fabric remnant or an old poster. Take that as your starting point and don’t be led by trends.

how to paint a room - Little Greene paints
Wall: Celestial Blue 101 littlegreene.com/celestial-blue Below dado rail: Marine Blue 95 (50s) littlegreene.com/marine-blue Picture frame: Bronze Red 15 (V) littlegreene.com/bronze-red

 

Light plays an important part in choosing paint

So use tester pots on large pieces of paper and move the paper around a room during the day and experiment with it in different lighting. Don’t just paint a small patch in one corner of a room because it won’t give you a fair idea of how the colour will work overall.

how to paint a room - Little Greene paints
Wall: Invisible Green 56 littlegreene.com/invisible-green Chairs: Leather 191 littlegreene.com/leather

 

Choose paint finishes based on the use of a room

High traffic areas like halls and open plan spaces need to be wipeable, so opting for Intelligent Matt emulsion means you can keep your walls looking as fresh as the day they were painted, but without compromising on matt finish.

how to paint a room - Little Greene paints
Walls: Loft White 222 littlegreene.com/loft-white-222 Skirting (from top to bottom): Urbane Grey 225 littlegreene.com/urbane-grey-225 and Lamp Black 228 littlegreene.com/lamp-black-228 Flooring: Shallows 223 littlegreene.com/shallows-223

 

Generally, if you live in a small space, having a palette that works throughout is ideal, so that transitions from one room to another are harmonious.

For assistance and advice
Little Greene London Showroom 020 7935 8844
colourconsultancy@thelittlegreene.com

 

Related articles

STAY IN TOUCH

Sign up to our newsletter to be the first to know about our events, industry news and trends:

black book img

To enquire about Black Blook services, please complete the form at the right or call one of our Black Book specialist agents on 020 7613 6262. Your absolute confidentiality is guaranteed.

Unique properties require
Unique strategies

We deliver more than just a subjective valuation based on ‘gut feel’ and dated ‘pound per square foot’ methods. Instead, we fully evaluate every property based on its unique qualities and then we work to craft a bespoke strategy that will target buyers willing to pay its true value regardless of the ‘going rate’.

No agent approaches property with the level of care and focus to detail that we do. It’s time you found an agent that delieverd real value.

ARE YOU CONSIDERING?

OR CALL US ON 020 7613 6262